sensates forever

Yes, Sense8 is canceled, as I’m sure many of you already know. After two seasons, the critically-acclaimed, cult-loved show that talked about diversity, gender stereotypes, social issues, and most of all, love, has been canceled for God knows what reason.

We could say, Sense8 is an incredibly expensive production, what with traveling around the world with an ensemble and crew, finding perfect shoot locations while wrestling with local laws and customs; it’s gotta be hell, logistically. We could also argue that Sense8 is not everyone’s cup of tea, because it can get long-winded for some, or it puts off some people with its revolutionary ideas.

 

1118full-sense8-screenshot (1)
There’s also the most boring hetero pairing in the world, but they’re still cool

 

But Sense8 gave viewers a different kind of feeling, a different, incredibly awesome way to showcase the diversity that this world has. For example.

Despite having a grizzled white guy cop from Chicago leading the crew, you also have an Icelandic DJ that grew from a damsel in distress into a truly capable account manager (I mean, bringing Will from safehouse to safehouse across Europe while simultaneously coordinating with the rest of the Sensates can’t be a joke), a German safe-cracker who is trying to find his place in the world.

We also have a sexy gay Mexican action star struggling with being accepted as a homosexual in a testosterone-filled industry, an Indian pharmacist with a troubled, loveless marriage fighting traditional values while trying to follow her heart. There’s a Kenyan matatu driver whose only raison d’etre is to provide a better life for his motherwhose story has turned into something of an inspirational one as he runs for office to enact actual change. We have a trans kickass hacker with a super-cute girlfriend fighting biases, traditional family values, while at the same time being super-cool. And finally, we have my bae, a Korean businesswoman / fucking fighter queen out for revenge against her brother. 

 

1118full-sense8-screenshot (2)
All the while having hot multiracial pansexual orgies. Also look at them. They’re adorable.

I’m still trying to console myself with this brilliant show’s cancellation. I love it more than Game of Thrones, or Stranger Things. I love the world-building, the sense of massiveness of the Sensate universe. I love its quirky little pockets of humor. I love the issues it tackles. I love how they frontload the LGBTQ communities around the world. I love the unconventional attacks and reflections on sexuality, acceptance, and love. I love the action scenes. I love the fight scenes, which I believe is one of the best choreographies in the history of action. I love the growth given to each of the characters – no one in the eight is too boring, or too complicated – and how it shows on- and off-screen. I love the pacing – from a high-adrenaline action scene cutting to a taichi session – and I love the gradual development of the story.

I love how Will looks in his cop outfit, his devotion to his cluster, and his pain of not being by his father’s side. I love how Riley is a stoner, and her loving relationship with her dad, and the fact that she started out as a little misguided girl, who evolves into a badass in her own right. I’ve fallen in love with Lito, Fernando, and Dani, treating each other not just as lovers (I mean, it’s practically a threesome, yes?) but as family, supporting each other every step of the way.

I love Capheus’ joie de vivre, his simplicty, humility, and badassery. I love Wolfgang and his broody personality, and the rare times he shows his brand of love for his best friend. I love Kala’s internal struggles, how she reluctantly let herself be carried by the currents of tradition, then suddenly falling in love with a complete but intimate stranger.

I love Nomi and Amanita so much, supporting each other unquestionably in the face of adversity, fighting biases, prejudice, the BPO, and staying strong together. Also Bug. I love Bug. I love Sun, not just because she’s a fucking badass, but she has an indomitable sense of purpose. She’s willing to go through so much shit just to achieve what she set out to do, and I love her vulnerability despite the tough shell she lives in.

 

1118full-sense8-screenshot (3).jpg
I will miss you all.

 

Sense8 is a wonderful show that gave us so much, taught us so much about a lot of things. I can spend some time talking about each issue they faced, but nah. I just…

 

I don’t know. I’m really, genuinely sad that this is over. And I can’t believe that something this beautifully crafted and well-thought-of would be discarded, to join the ranks of countless great shows that died ahead of their time. But it’s not like we can do anything about it: big money always has the final say.

It’s just that this is going down in history as one of the greatest losses in storytelling, and that, my friends, is devastating. This show, above all else, spoke about love, genuine human interaction, respect for one another, acceptance. Love, in all its purity and all its forms. You don’t get a show like that very often.

I love you, Sense8 team. So long.

 

617full-sense8-screenshot.jpg
Sensates forever.

 

 

Leave a Reply

